Using RazorScriptManager

20 Jun

Recently I was working on a personal project in ASP.NET MVC3 and realized I didn’t have a good way to manage CSS and JavaScript files. Most of the script managers available were designed for WebForms, and while they may work fine in MVC, I felt dirty trying to include a user control. I wanted the standard script manager functionality – combining/compressing scripts and caching of the combined/compressed output. I also wanted something that played nicely with Razor, and I wanted it to be able to take CDN-hosted scripts into account as well. And I wanted something I could drop in with NuGet.

I spent a little bit of time looking for something that met all those needs, but (after an admittedly short search) never found what I was looking for. Eventually I decided it might be faster to just scratch my own itch, and definitely more educational.

One of my design goals was to have the API be as simple as possible. To achieve this, I used optional parameters to allow the user to make full use of named parameters in order to avoid a pile of method overloads. To add a JavaScript file to the script manager, you simply call:

@Script.AddJavaScript(localPath: "~/Scripts/jquery-1.6.1.js", cdnPath: "https://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.6.1/jquery.min.js", siteWide: true)

Then to write out the combined/compressed JavaScript reference, just call this on your layout page:

@Script.OutputJavaScript()

Calling AddJavascript() will add the file reference to the collection of scripts to be managed. Based on a web.config setting, the script manager will use either the local path or the optional CDN path, if it exists. The siteWide parameter ensures that the script is called prior to other scripts. In this example, I’m referencing jQuery, so I want to make sure jQuery is loaded before a page-specific script that depends on jQuery. For the page-specific script, I’d call something like:

@Script.AddJavaScript("~/Scripts/Pages/index.js")

Because the default values for the parameters are set to the most-common use case, the typical script reference is about as simple as it can get. Two web.config settings are also used. Setting UseCDNScripts to false will tell the manager to only use local files, even if CDN paths are provided (useful during development). Setting CompressScripts to false will tell the manager not to compress scripts. This is also useful during development, because debugging a compressed script is a total nightmare.

The output for the two files is provided through an HttpHandler. If you’re looking in your browser’s development tools, you’ll notice calls to /scripts.axd. This is the HttpHandler, and the two querystring values passed in tell the script manager which type of output you want (CSS/JS) and the hash value of the combined scripts. The handler then returns the output as if it were a single file. Within the returned output (if compression is disabled), each individual file is preceded by a comment providing the full file path so you can easily track down the original files.

For a simple example project, check out the demo application on GitHub. Or just install the NuGet package and check it out – it’s only two files and a pair of web.config settings.  If you’re only interested in how to use it, you can stop here. If you want to know how it works, check back in the next day or so and I’ll the next post where I cover the internals of the project. Until then, feel free to look at the source code on GitHub.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

